Wilderness of Coorg

Wilderness of Coorg

Yes, I have been a little late in my posts, but the superb weekend in Coorg deserves an equally superb design compilation.
Coorg is an administrative district in Karnataka, India. It is well known in the world for coffee and its “brave warriors”.
When we planned this weekend none of us had a clue as to what was in store of us. I started my weekend on a high note (literally) the entire gang was sure I will be throwing up in the bus due to early afternoon drinking. (hehehe) But I held my ground and was the last one standing.
We were welcomed with chilly nice morning and fresh mountain air. Such a relief form the city life. Next stop was to get some breakfast, as we were too ealry for breakfast we were served last nights food, we didn mind as we all were very hungry. To our surprise we were served insect and hair infested food, hahaha. Totally killed my appetite. So I kept away form it. Even though I am an Indian and this is not much for our regular street food, but even I kept away form the delicious breakfast. This beginning brought doubts for the forth coming days.
Our carriage was a superb 4×4 jeep, totally hard core loving!!! Our adobe for the weekend was a nice farm house with proper cow shed, dogs, hens, fileds etc. Some relief after the breakfast.
We got ready to explore the city, we equipped ourselves with food, beers and music. The first stop was nice stream flowing by where we chilled, had some beers, played blasting music and swam. But what was coming next was true pleasure. Our guide did a total 360 degree turn in scenery and took us to the mountain top, although the drive there was ‘dare devil’ types, reaching the top among the clouds and chilly breeze was worth it. Splendid I mus say.
As the clouds set on us we returned home to eat, drink and make merry. The night favored us as it was a full-moon night and sitting in the middle of the fileds with our drinks in proper indian villager style was quite and experience for my french gang.
Next morning was trek day. We bought some pork and vegetables for our barbecue before the trek. We cooked our food and dined with the tribals of the coorgie mountains. Then was the highlight of the trip, THE TREK, fighting some deadly leeches, spotting huge squirrels, bison tracks, elephants excreta and a hell of a climb we made it to the top and YES it was worth all the mentioned above.
Finally the day was done and after eating some fresh jackfruit that we plucked while trekking , we retired back for our bus to get home.
All in all this was truly an adventure for all of us, something we did not expect. I felt like a kid all over again. Since my childhood I have been trekking through forests with my dad, as he is an army officer. The childhood memories came gushing back and made me feel happy, alive and free again. ( not an average child’s memories, hehehe)

Ok then, my lovely readers, hope you enjoyed this post about my weekend in Coorg, let me know if you want any information about the place, if you are planning a trip there, would be happy to help. 🙂

